Traveling Solo, Fears and Doubts

Feeling less than stellar, I round-up a last few items, As I print my flight itinerary and travel insurance my stomach turns.  ” I know when to say enough, what happened”?  I think back, “the craft beers! they snuck up on me, with their delicious flavor and high alcohol content”.  Dads words pop up:   “You have no one to blame but your self buddy”.  It Looks like this is how I will start my 30 hours of travel.

Tap and Grind On central Ave Downtown Orlando. Beers with Friends!
Tap and Grind On central Ave Downtown Orlando. Beers with Friends!   I still had it together here.

One positive thing to waking up on a bad note is that the day can only get better, I sip my coffee print a copy of my passport and feel a small burst of excitement.  At the airport things go smoothly as I slide through security I remember  my hangover Cure and head for the store.

I’m no doctor but this concoction has gotten me through MANY a hangover 

  1.    5hour energy -you depleted your body of B12 boozing , here’s a replenishing boost, the caffeine seems to give a nice kick start as well. (http://healthyeating.sfgate.com/alcohol-effects-b12-deficiency-9699.html)
  2.   Cocoanut Water- hydrate and replace electrolytes   (http://www.mensfitness.com/nutrition/what-to-eat/hangover-cures-8-healthy-foods-to-ease-your-symptoms/slide/2 )
  3.   Water to sip… You’re dehydrated dummy!

From One flight to the Next I make small talk and share laughs with the people around me, proving the theory that we are only ever alone by choice. That being said the last few weeks prior to my departure had me dealing with some serious anxiety and fear regarding solo travel. On a few occasions I even woke up randomly stressing my impending trip, as if it was an upcoming doctors appointment with guaranteed bad news.  I almost let it sway my plans to shorten things or venture in directions I’d already been.

All it takes is a smile, a hello, and before you know it everyones sharing stories. Monica in the middle is headed to teach english. Rose on the far right says she always travels with groups, but this was her first solo trip.
All it takes is a smile, a hello, and before you know it everyone’s sharing stories. Monica ( middle),  from Texas is headed to teach english. Rose (on the far right) is from the Philipines, she told u that she always travels with groups, but this was her first solo trip.

 The more I talked with friends and wrote in the journal the more I realized it was simply the fear of the unknown.  As with any situation we can choose to focus on all the positives, or we can focus on all the negatives.  Where’s your focus?
“Fear is going to be a player in your life, but you get to decide how much”
-Jim Carrey

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uJD5-R_HPCc
As with anything in life things can and will go wrong, but it doesn’t take traveling abroad for them to go south.   I made it a point to  cover my bases and play things a bit smarter since I’m rolling solo.   I heard multiple stories from friends that had those not so joyous travel experiences, naturally I take notes.  Both stories people had their shoulder bags snatched, Containing passports and money, Leaving them a stranger in a strange land.  Heres the steps that I took to  give my self an edge:
For starters I left copied bundles of my Passport, Travel Insurance, and Flight Itinerary with fellow firefighters. I also put a set inside my board bag as well as in my travel pack.

Accidents happen, travel insurance through AIG Travel Guard. Came recommended via past travel agents. Passpot Copies incase I do end up at the Embassy Flight itinerary... self explanatory.
Accidents happen, travel insurance through AIG Travel Guard. Came recommended via past travel agents.
Passport Copies in case I do end up at the Embassy
Flight itinerary

I finally purchased a waste money belt that tucks into my pants(http://lewisnclark.com) and a PacSafe Bag(http://www.pacsafe.com) The day of stashing money throughout my things has gone to the waste side.
Neither of these are full proof, but they work as deterrents.  The waist belt isn’t a 24/7 thing, but when wandering from airports to lodging while carrying  all my belongings  I strap up.  PacSafe  was introduced to my by my buddy Glenn, He used it in the past on sailboats.  Load it down with spare cash and passports, seal it, stash it, and lock it up.  Better than nothing.

My Lewis N Clark from target for $10. PacSafe Bag. Its wire lined Kevlar that can be sealed and locked around a fixed objet. Again not full proof but its a deterant when hotel safes aren't options.
My Lewis N Clark from target for $10.
PACSAFE Bag. Its wire lined Kevlar that can be sealed and locked around a fixed object.  Again not full proof but its a deterrent when hotel safes aren’t options.

As I sit and write from my hotel I can honestly say that I’ve yet to regret venturing out alone. The worries and fears have gone to the waste side, my time in Bangkok has been nothing short of epic.  The more I travel and talk, the more people I meet that are doing it on their own as well.  Some travelers admit to having had similar fears at the start, but just as I’m finding out traveling solo opens up doors that may have not been there if I had been with friends.

Words to Live by

Leave a Reply

